The Benefits of Coconut Oil

If you’re not using coconut oil, you need to be A.S.A.P. It is literally a miracle product.

Hair, skin, scars – you name it, coconut oil makes it better. Use it in your hair as a conditioning treatment. Apply a generous amount on your head and finger through your hair from root to tip. Leave in for 1 minute or so and then rinse out in the shower. Use it as a body moisturizer and all purpose skin cream. Apply coconut oil as a moisturizer on your body prior to showering and then rinse off in the shower, or apply to your body after the shower. Either way will leave you with silky, smooth skin.

The best use of all – use it as a scar treatment. Coconut oil does wonders for scars. In fact, I have a friend who lost his leg in a motorcycle accident. Knowing how well coconut oil has worked on scars of my own, I gave him a huge jug so he could apply some all over his wound and it’s worked fantastic. He’s even given some of it out to his friends so they can see how good it is because he just can’t get over how well it has worked.

However, while coconut oil is the best, there are some things you need to take into consideration. If you have oily, acne prone skin like I do, coconut oil can be a hazard for facial use. It is a bit of a thicker oil so it can clog pores. If you have pores that are easily clogged, I wouldn’t recommend using coconut oil on your face. In addition, if you suffer from bodily acne, I don’t think I would use coconut oil as a bodily moisturizer. I haven’t attempted it to see if it clogs my pores out of fear so I’m not 100% sure if it does react the same way as your face. I suppose it’s worth a shot.

Bonus: Coconut oil is great for cooking and baking. Also, I practice oil pulling every morning and night. Oil pulling is basically using coconut oil as a mouthwash. Take about a teaspoon and swish it around your mouth for as long as you can handle. Oil pulling calls for 20 minutes. If I have the time, I’ll keep it in for that long; otherwise, I just do as long as I can for that day. When you’re done, spit in the TRASH CAN, not the sink (oil can clog pipes) and rinse your mouth out with water. Coconut oil is excellent for oral health and my teeth appear whiter and cleaner, my gums healthier.

As I mentioned before, one concern with coconut oil is that oil can clog drain pipes. If you use prior to the shower, this can be an issue. However, I have never had an issue. Personally, I take a very hot shower and coconut oil liquefies at 75 degrees, so the hot temperature helps to flush the liquid through easily. If the temperature falls below 75 degrees, do take into consideration that the coconut oil will harden, hence the clogging. Again, this has never happened to me but it’s something to keep aware of.

All in all, coconut oil is a wonderful product with universal purposes. Buy it. Use it. Love it.

Photo Credit: http://wondergressive.com/precocious-puberty-growing-issue-young-girls

#hereforthefeedco221

Leave a Reply

